SMS vs RTW Match Preview

In a surprise move, the Salem Spartans sent bowling all-rounder Akash Sumra to open the batting in the last match, along with Amit Sathvik. The former seemed to be middling the ball well and we might yet again see him in the opening role.

The Spartans have roped in Kaushik Gandhi, who led the Super Gillies to the Finals in the last season, and he will play an important role in the middle order. He will be supported by the likes of S Aravind and Mokit Hariharan, as well as all-rounders Maan Bafna and S Abishiek. Adnan Khan played a brilliant cameo of 47 off just 15 deliveries in the last match but that wasn’t nearly enough to see them through.

Talking about the bowling, the seam attack will be led by Abhishek Tanwar, who was the leading wicket-taker for the last season. He will be supported by Sunny Sandhu and Sachin Rathi. The spin duties will be performed by G Ganesh Moorthi as well as all-rounders Mokit Hariharan and Akash Sumra. 

Skipper Ganga Sridhar Raju was excellent with the bat in the previous match for Ba11sy Trichy, playing a gritty knock of 48 runs. However, he received no support from the other end because as many as 5 of the top 7 players were dismissed for single-digit scores.

All-rounder R Rajkumar put up good resistance but it was too little too late for Trichy as they were dismissed for a modest total of 120. The team has some capable batsmen including Akshay Srinivasan, Jafar Jamal, Daryl Ferrario, and Mani Bharthi. They will need to step up here if Trichy wants to win. M Shajahan, Anthony Dhas, and Rajkumar provide depth to the batting which can be an advantage here.

T Natarajan, who had a decent outing in the recently concluded IPL, will lead the pace attack here along with Ma Silambarasan, while R Alexander and S Boopalan will take care of the spin.

Weather Report

The weather is expected to be warm and we may see some showers interrupting the play. If the DLS method does come into play, it will be an advantage for the chasing team. 


Pitch Report

The pitch at the NPR Cricket Ground is well-balanced, providing equal opportunities to the batsmen as well as the bowlers. The average first-inning score here is around 160. The quicker bowlers will get some movement off the seam here. The outfield here is pretty quick, which is an advantage for the batsmen.

Notable stats

Ganga Sridhar Raju’s consistent batting

Ganga Sridhar Raju has scored 278 runs in his last 10 outings at an average of 30.88 at a strike rate of 113.00.

Team News

There are no updates regarding injuries from either side. 


SMS vs RTW Probable 11

SMS Playing 11

  • S Abishiek
  • Kaushik Gandhi
  • Amit Sathvik (Wk)
  • Mokit Hariharan
  • Maan Bafna
  • Sunny Sandhu
  • Abhishek Tanwar (C)
  • Adnan Khan
  • Sachin Rathi
  • Akash Sumra
  • M Ganesh Moorthi

RTW Playing 11

  • Ganga Sridhar Raju (C)
  • Jafar Jamal
  • Daryl Ferrario
  • Akshay Srinivasan
  • Mani Bharathi (Wk)
  • Antony Dhas
  • R Rajkumar
  • M Shajahan
  • R Silambarasan
  • R Alexander
  • T Natarajan
This is not the official playing 11 for the match. This is a prediction of the expected playing 11 for each team based on the writers analysis.

Dream11 Prediction

We are backing Ba11sy Trichy to win here. They enjoy a good record against the Salem Spartans and that should give them plenty of confidence going into this contest. The team has plenty of depth in their batting, thanks to the presence of some good all-rounders. The bowling too looks a bit stronger than their opponents. 


Top Picks

Abhishek Tanwar: Abhishek Tanwar was the leading wicket-taker of the tournament last season, with 17 wickets. He also picked up a wicket in the opening fixture of this season.

T Natarajan: Natarajan is one of the most experienced bowlers in the Trichy line-up and can be quite effective against an out-of-form batting line-up of the Spartans.

Ganga Sridhar Raju: Sridhar Raju scored a well-made 48 in the opening fixture and can once again play an important role here. 


SMS vs RTW Dream11 Team 1

Keeper: A Sathivik

Batters: K Gandhi, G Sridhar Raju (C), M Adnan-Khan, J Jamal, D Ferrario

All-rounders: S Sandhu, R Rajkumar

Bowlers: A Tanwar (VC), T Natarajan, R Silambarasan

SMS vs RTW Dream11 Prediction - OCB Team Prediction