SMS vs CSG Match Preview

Salem Spartans have brought in Kaushik Gandhi, who led the Chepauk Super Gillies to their 4th title win in the last season, and he is expected to lead the team here too. Gandhi is a consistent performer at the top of the order and will play an important role along with S Abishiek, who has been retained.

The team has bet heavily on all-rounders and will feature the likes of Akash Sumra, S Aravind, Maan Bafna, and TS Mokit Hariharan. Abhishek Tanwar, who was the leading wicket-taker of the last season with 17 wickets, comes in from the Lyca Kovai Kings. He will lead the pace attack here and will be supported by Sachin Rathi and B Jaganath Sinivas.

Left-arm spinner Ravi Karthikeyan retains his spot in the squad, along with M Ganesh Moorthi, both of whom will be the key bowlers during the middle overs.

The CSG team management has made some tweaks in the squad and will be hoping that the current crop of players propel them to another title win here. Chepauk Super Gillies have retained N Jagadeesan and Uthirasamy Sasidev from the last season.

N Jagadeesan had a relatively quiet season by his standards last time around but has since then shown some excellent form in the domestic circuit. The team has added plenty of firepower to its batting by bringing in Sanjay Yadav, who was the top scorer in the last season, as well as Baba Aparajith, who was 3rd on that list.

S Harish Kumar put up a good all-round effort last time around and will once again play an important role here. He, along with Ramalingam Rohit, adds depth to the batting. In the bowling department, the team is a bit lacking when it comes to the pace attack.

Sandeep Warrier and Sonu Yadav, who bowled well in the last season have department. The team has brought in M Viju Arul and Rocky Bhasker as their replacements.

The spin attack is pretty strong though thanks to the likes of M Silambarasan, N Sibi, Rahil Shah, and B Iyappan.

Weather Report

The weather is expected to be humid with temperatures of below 30 degrees Celsius. 

Pitch Report

The pitch at the SNR cricket ground is well-balanced, providing equal opportunities to the batters as well as the bowlers. There will be some movement off the seam for the quicker bowlers as well as some good pace and bounce.

Notable stats

S Harish Kumar's all-round performance

Harish Kumar put a good performance with the bat as well as the ball for the Super Gillies in the last season. He scored a total of 104 runs and also picked up 5 wickets.

Team News

There are no updates regarding injuries from either side.

SMS vs CSG Probable 11

SMS Playing 11

  • Amit Sathvik (Wk)
  • R Kavin
  • Kaushik Gandhi (C)
  • S Aravind
  • Maan Bafna
  • Sunny Sandhu
  • Abhishek Tanwar
  • M Ganesh Moorthi
  • Akash Sumra
  • S Abishiek
  • Sachin Rathi

CSG Playing 11

  • N Jagadeesan (C)
  • Pradosh Ranjan Paul (Wk)
  • Sanjay Yadav
  • U Sasidev
  • Santosh Shiv
  • Baba Aparajith
  • S Harish Kumar
  • Lokesh Raj
  • M Silambarasan
  • Rahil Shah
  • Rockey Bhasker
This is not the official playing 11 for the match. This is a prediction of the expected playing 11 for each team based on the writers analysis.

Dream11 Prediction

We are backing the Chepauk Super Gillies to win here. They are the most successful franchise in TNPL history and seem to have struck a good balance of players in the squad, especially in the batting department. On the other hand, the Salem Spartans have struggled against the Super Gillies in their recent encounters and we expect their woes to continue. 


Top Picks

Sanjay Yadav: Sanjay Yadav was the top run-getter of the tournament in the last season. He scored 452 runs at an average of 90.40 and a strike rate of 186.77.

N Jagadeesan: Jagadeesan has an excellent record in the shortest format of the game, where he has scored 1153 runs in 52 innings.

Abhishek Tanwar: Abhishek Tanwar was the leading wicket-taker in the last season, with 17 wickets in 9 matches. 


SMS vs CSG Dream11 Team 1

Keeper: N Jagadeesan, A Sathvik-VP

Batters: S Yadav (C), K Gandhi, U Sasidev

All-rounders: B Aparajith, M Bafna, H S Kumar (VC)

Bowlers: A Tanwar, M-Silambarasan, R Shah

SMS vs CSG Dream11 Prediction - OCB Team Prediction